Outstanding leaders appraise their staff

Good bosses appraise their employees through good and bad days
Dying for a tidy drawer
Dying for a tidy drawer?

You may think it is essential for any boss to express their appreciation about his or her employees. That is not neccessarily the case.  Average leaders do not spend time supporting their employees in their daily work. Outstanding leaders keep in mind to develop their people. They do not care about conventional leadership a-z.

Marcus Buckingham and Curt Coffman summarise 25 years of Gallup research on organsations and leadership in 12 questions. The questions are published in their book First, break all the rules (2005). If you can answere positively to a large proportion of them, you are likely to be at the right shelf in your professional life. If you are a leader reading this, you would like to create the environment ‘where employees answere positively to all twelve questions, then you have built a great place to work’ (Buckingham and Coffman, 2005:21).

A great place to work

  1. Do I know what is expected of me at work?
  2. Do I have the materials and equipment I need to do my work right?
  3. At work, do I have the opportunity to do what I do best every day?
  4. In the last seven days, have I received recognition or praise for good work?
  5. Does my supervisor, or someone at work, seem to care about me as a person?
  6. Is there someone at work who encourages my development?
  7. At work, do my opinions seem to count?
  8. Does the mission/purpose of my company make me feel like my work is important?
  9. Are my co-workers committed to doing quality work?
  10. Do I have a best friend at work?
  11. In the last six months, have I talked with someone about my progress?
  12. At work, have I had opportunities to learn and grow?

After all, you would like to be remembered for being someone with more than a tidy desk.

Outstanding leaders appraise their staff

One thought on “Outstanding leaders appraise their staff

Leave a Reply

